Perfect Guacamole

For the longest time, I didn’t like guacamole.  I’m not entirely sure what it was about it I didn’t like.  One day I started playing around with some ingredients.  I had a few left over cherry tomatoes and some scraps of onion and decided to toss them in.  This was the beginning of something delicious.  A few more tweaks and a dash of this and that and I had the perfect guacamole.

This guacamole is easy to prepare and has a nice balance of flavours.   I get requests for my recipe often so I finally decided to do some actual measurements.  I am a cook who cooks by feel, I use all my senses to cook with, therefore I rarely follow exact formulas. However, it’s hard to give someone a recipe that way.  So here is the actual recipe for my perfect guacamole, but I encourage you to taste and alter to suit yourself.

I hope you enjoy.

Perfect Guacamole

Perfect Guacamole

2 ripe avocados

3 TBSP Greek yogurt

Juice of 1 lime

1 tsp worchestersire sauce

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp salt

Dash of Hot Sauce (Frank’s Red Hot is nice)

1/4 cup diced tomatoes 

2 tbsp diced onion

small handful fresh cilantro (about 2 tbsp)

Scoop avocados into a medium sized bowl, then add all other ingredients.  With an immersion blender, pulse 5 or 6 times just until mixed.  You can also use a fork, you’ll just want to make sure you’ve diced your onion and tomatoes small.  This recipe isn’t meant to be perfectly smooth.  It’s perfectly ok if you still see bits of onion and tomato.

Additional tips & ideas for this recipe:

  • Sour cream can be used in place of the Greek yogurt
  • Cherry tomatoes work well, about 4 does the job
  • If you like it spicier, try Sriracha sauce

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment